The Fund for Investigative Journalism

Supporting investigative reporting projects around the world

  • Next Deadline: May 13, 2019 (11:59 pm Eastern)

  • Giving Thanks

    It’s the time of year to give thanks, and in that spirit, the board and staff of the Fund for Investigative Journalism would like to express our gratitude to the journalists and editors who have volunteered to work with our grantees as mentors, to the organizations which have expanded our effectiveness by forging partnerships, and to our financial supporters.


    David Biello, Scientific American

    Ron Campbell, Orange County Register

    Wendell Cochran, American University

    Sarah Cohen, New York Times

    Matt Doig, Newsday

    David Donald, Center for Public Integrity

    Mark Feldstein, University of Maryland

    Gary Fields, Wall Street Journal

    Robin Fields, ProPublica

    Laura Frank, I-News Network

    Manny Garcia, El Nuevo Herald

    James Grimaldi, Wall Street Journal

    Andy Hall, Wisconsin Center for Investigative Reporting

    Dianna Hunt, Fort Worth Star-Telegram

    David Kaplan, Global Investigative Journalism Network

    Kevin Keeshan, NBC

    Mike McGraw, Kansas City Star

    Josh Meyer, Medill School of Journalism

    Jim Morris, Center for Public Integrity

    Jim Neff, Seattle Times

    Deb Nelson, University of Maryland

    Chuck Neubauer, Washington Times

    Ron Nixon, New York Times

    Lois Norder, Atlanta Journal-Constitution

    Judy Pasternak, Author

    Robert Rosenthal, Center for Investigative Reporting

    Ricardo Sandoval Palos, Human Rights Watch

    Fred Schulte, Center for Public Integrity

    Andy Segal, Independent producer

    Ken Silverstein, Harper’s Magazine

    Joe Stephens, Washington Post

    Adam Thompson, ProPublica

    Tisha Thompson, WRC-TV

    Steve Weinberg, Missouri School of Journalism

    Chris Woodside, Author

    Alison Young, USA Today

    Daniel Zwerdling, NPR


    Catalogue for Philanthropy – Greater Washington

    The Dykema law firm

    Investigative Reporters and Editors

    Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism at Brandeis University

    Society of Environmental Journalists


    Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation

    Gannett Foundation

    Green Park Foundation

    Morton K. and Jane Blaustein Foundation

    The Nara Fund

    Otto-Whalley Family Foundation

    Park Foundation

    Connie Rydberg and Nirav Kapadia

    Thank you!