The Fund for Investigative Journalism

Supporting investigative reporting projects around the world

  • Next Deadline: Feb. 4, 2019 (11:59 pm Eastern)

  • Giving Thanks

    The board and staff of the Fund for Investigative Journalism would like to express our gratitude to the following organizations and individuals who have donated time and resources in support of our work during the past year.

    Major Contributors:

    Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation

    Gannett Foundation

    Green Park Foundation

    Morton K. and Jane Blaustein Foundation

    Nicholas B. Ottaway Foundation

    Otto-Whalley Family Foundation

    Park Foundation

    Shari L. Pfleeger

    Reva & David Logan Foundation

    Connie Rydberg and Nirav Kapadia

    The Estate of William L. Matzkin

    The Herb Block Foundation

    The Nara Fund


    Catalogue for Philanthropy – Greater Washington

    Investigative Reporters and Editors

    Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism at Brandeis University

    Society of Environmental Journalists

    Eric Fingerhut, Pro Bono Attorney, Dykema

    Leigh Riddick, Pro Bono Financial Advisor, Kogod School of Business, American University


    David Biello, Scientific American

    Ron Campbell, Orange County Register

    Rose Ciotta, WIBV-TV – Buffalo

    Wendell Cochran, American University

    Sarah Cohen, New York Times

    Marla Cone, Environmental Health News

    Chase Davis, New York Times

    David Donald, Center for Public Integrity

    Peggy Engel, Alicia Patterson Foundation

    Mark Feldstein, University of Maryland

    Gary Fields, Wall Street Journal

    Robin Fields, ProPublica

    Mary Fricker, RepoWatch

    Ryan Gabrielson, Center for Investigative Reporting

    James Grimaldi, Wall Street Journal

    Dianna Hunt, Fort Worth Star-Telegram

    Ingrid Lobet, Houston Chronicle

    Kristen Lombardi, Center for Public Integrity

    Elizabeth Lucas, Investigative Reporters and Editors

    Josh Meyer, Northwestern University

    Jim Morris, Center for Public Integrity

    Shawn Musgrave, Muckrock

    Deborah Nelson, University of Maryland

    Lise Olsen, Houston Chronicle

    Judy Pasternak, Author

    John Ryan, KOUW Radio – Seattle

    Ricardo Sandoval Palos, Human Rights Watch

    Tony Schick, Investigative Reporters and Editors

    Andy Segal, Andy Segal Productions

    Ken Silverstein, Al Jazeera America

    Joe Stephens, Washington Post

    Tisha Thompson, WRC-TV – Washington DC

    Mc Nelly Torres, Florida Center for Investigative Reporting

    Ken Ward, Charleston Gazette

    Chris Woodside, Freelance

    Alison Young, USA Today

    Scott Zamost, CNN

    Daniel Zwerdling, NPR