Sandy Bergo appointed executive director of The Fund for Investigative Journalism.

WASHINGTON (January 15, 2010) — Sandy Bergo, an experienced investigative reporter, has been chosen to serve as executive director of The Fund for Investigative Journalism.

Bergo, who replaces Cheryl Arvidson, has previously worked as an investigative producer for WBBM-TV (Chicago) and WJLA-TV (Washington DC), a senior writer for the Center for Public Integrity, and a freelance investigative reporter for the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Washington Monthly. She shared in many awards for her work in television, including the DuPont-Columbia Award, the Peabody Award, and the Investigative Reporting and Editors Award.

The Fund is a nonprofit organization with a 40 year history of supporting independent investigative reporters with grants ranging from $500 to $10,000. These grants help launch groundbreaking work exposing corruption, malfeasance, incompetence, and societal ills. Shortly after the public-spirited philanthropist Philip M. Stern founded the Fund, it awarded small grants to pay Seymour Hersh’s expenses for investigating the My Lai massacre.