Fund for Investigative Journalism Elects Board Officers, Members

WASHINGTON, DC, December 9, 2020 – The Fund for Investigative Journalism today announced that its Board of Directors has elected officers for 2021 and re-elected members to serve additional terms on the board. 

Board officers were elected as follows:

  • Mark Greenblatt was re-elected President. Greenblatt is senior national investigative correspondent for the Scripps Washington Bureau. He has received Peabody, duPont, Murrow, Livingston and Emmy awards. He previously worked at ABC News and KHOU-TV (CBS Houston).
  • Cheryl W. Thompson was re-elected Vice President. Thompson is an investigative correspondent at National Public Radio and former investigative reporter at The Washington Post, where she was part of the team that received a Pulitzer Prize for national reporting. She serves as President of Investigative Reporters and Editors.
  • Anu Narayanswamy was elected Vice President. Narayanswamy is the data reporter on the political enterprise team at The Washington Post. Previously, she did investigative reporting with the Sunlight Foundation and for the Center for Public Integrity.
  • Alan Berlow was re-elected Treasurer. Berlow is a freelance reporter and author whose work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Atlantic and Harpers. Previously, he served as a foreign correspondent at National Public Radio.

Three members of the board were re-elected to serve three-year terms:

  • Lottie Joiner, award-winning journalist who serves as editor in chief of The Crisis magazine, the official publication of the NAACP. A former fellow of the Fund for Investigative Journalism, Joiner has written for USA Today, The Washington Post, Essence and other publications. 
  • Susanne Reber, leader of the podcast team at Scripps Washington Bureau and creator and executive producer of Verified, a serialized documentary podcast. She is the co-founder and former executive editor of Reveal, the first investigative radio show and podcast in the U.S. Reber, a Peabody Award recipient, founded and led National Public Radio’s first investigative unit.
  • Joe Stephens, founding director of the Program in Journalism at Princeton University, where he is also the Edwin F. Ferris Professor of Journalism in Residence. A former staff writer at the Washington Post, Stephens is a three-time winner of the George Polk Award and a three-time Pulitzer finalist. 


For more on the Fund’s Board of Directors, go to:, and for more on the Fund’s Advisory Board, go to:

For an index of stories published so far this year with grants and other support from the Fund for Investigative Journalism go to: For highlights of the impact stories published with grants from the Fund for Investigative Journalism have had, go to: